Teso Voted Wisely to Earn VP Position- Leaders

Written by on June 9, 2021

The appointment of Jessica Rose Alupo Epel as the vice president has generated  a lot of excitement in Teso sub-region, where she hails from.  Several people in the region took to social media on Tuesday evening to express their gratitude to the president, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni shortly after the list of the appointees went public.

Alupo is among the eight ministers from Teso sub-region named by President Yoweri Museveni on the new cabinet. The others are Jeje Odongo named Minister of Foreign Affairs after serving as Internal Affairs Minister for long, Musa Ecweru, also taken to another docket as State Minister for Works after serving as State Minister for Disaster Preparedness for a long time, Peter Ogwang, formerly State Minister for ICT and now State Minister in charge Economic Monitoring and Hellen Adoa, who has retained her docket as State Minister for Fisheries.

The others are the newly elected Kumi County MP, Sidronius Okaasai Opolot who was named State Minister for Energy, Dr. Ongalo Obote who replaces Agnes Jaff Akiror Egunyu as State Minister in charge Teso Affairs and Hellen Asamo, State Minister in charge of Disability Affairs. This is the first time Teso is getting eight ministerial positions in the current government.

The last cabinet had five ministers from Teso.  Capt. John Emily Otekat, the former Serere County MP and now chairman Board of Directors Uganda Air Cargo, says that the region voted wisely to deserve more ministerial positions.  “It means that the people of Teso have voted very wisely this time round and H.E. the President has rewarded Teso for voting NRM. To God be the Glory”, he said in a text.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track