Written by on April 9, 2021

The long wait for rallying is over. Round three of the 2020 National Rally Championship (NRC) is set for tomorrow in the Bwera Bistro SMC Challenge Rally.

City Tycoon Rajiv Ruparelia and his co-driver Enock olinga In their VW polo proto are  among the  26 registered  crews  for the event ,  The second NRC IUEA Jinja Rally winner Hassan Alwi/Joseph KamyaFred Busulwa who tops the NRC standings with 130 points,  Ponsiano Lwakataka/Paul Musaazi (Subaru N12 B),  Amir Kavuma/ Mustafa Kanakulya (Subaru N8),  Godfrey Nsereko / Raymond Munyigwa (Toyota Run x),  Edison Mungyereza/    (Subaru GRB),  Ibrahim Lubega / Sserwoga (Toyota fx),  Peter Busingye/ Hakim Mawanda (Subaru),  Duncan Mubiru / Musa Nsubuga (Subaru GVB),  Peter Kalule/ Mariam Nambasa (Subaru),  Samuel Bwete/ Urban Mulindwa (Evo 9),  Godfrey Aine Sodo/ Derrick Lubambula (Evo 9),   Kateete Abdul / Rahma Mohammad (Subaru N14),  Omar Mayanja / Hussein Mukuye (Evo x),  Godfrey Lubega/ (Subaru N12),  Mark Lubega/ Unissan Bakunda (Subaru N10),   Adam Rauf/ Aaron Nsamba (Evo x),  Shafiq Senabulya/ Immaculate N (Evo),   Faizo Kayiira/ M. Kiyega (Subaru),  Samuel Watendwa / Steven Bunya (starlet),   John Barrows Lumu/ Joseph Lutalo (Subaru N14),   Mustapha M/ Ritah Nakigozi (Subaru,   Jas Mangat / Joseph Kamya,  Edward Kirumira / Ritah Katono,  Kepher Walubi/ Asuman M

The event, formerly scheduled to be held in Masaka April last year, has been moved to Sembabule with  no fans in attendance due to Covid-19 prevention and control measures rolled out by the Ministry of Health. All competitors and technical support must return negative COVID-19 tests 72 hours to action day to be allowed in and only accredited media personnel will cover the event.

The Sembabule Rally will be run under six competitive stages with a total distance of 179.73 kms of which 105.17kms competitive and 74.56kms liaison.

According to Clerk of the Course Jareed Kalera, two stages will be repeated with the longest stage is the Hajji Gombe which stretches over 22.14 kilometres and the shortest being the Baraka Fashion Store of 6.33 kilometers.

It should be noted that this event that was earlier on scheduled for 21st March. 2021 but got postponed will have some absentees including 2017 NRC champion Christakis Fitidis, three-time Champion Ronald Ssebuguzi, two-time champion Suzan super Lady Muwonge, 2008 champion Dr.Ashraf Muhamad and 2015 champion Arthur Blick Jr.

Stiff competition is expected to be among Rauf Adam, Hassan Alwi, Duncan Mubiru, Fred Busulwa, Rajiv Ruparelia, and Ponsiano Lwakataka.


Fred Busulwa     130 points
Omar Mayanja     110
Hassan Alwi Jr     100
Duncan Mubiru     90
Ponsiano Lwakataka     80
Ibra Lubega     75
Arthur Blick Jr.     60
Dr Ahmed Ashraf     60
Kepher Walubi     60
Jackson Sserwanga     55



Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track